Research.

I have been looking at the work of Zebedee Jones

I like these because of the way the paint has dried, also they have been done on linen but you can’t tell that they have been done on linen, so they just look like objects of paint. I also enjoy how he has just used one colour as although the colours are flat they have dimension due to the texture of the paint. They also look like topographies, and have a lot of detail despite just being one colour, due to the tools he has used to apply the paint, there are ridges and lines and lumps and bumps.

I have also been looking at Jason Martin

 

This green one is excellent as it looks very tactile and the ridges and grooves give it movement and texture.

I like how the reflective quality of this substance gives this piece dimension and movement whilst it remains all one colour. I love the texture of it too and how touchable it looks.

I love how this looks like hair and where the light hits it looks 3D, and how it is all one colour but dimension has been created simply by light.

Leave a comment